Faculty 2012

2012 Faculty: An extraordinary gathering of remarkable writers who teach – who they are, their professional experience, and a glimpse of how you’ll hone skills, explore your art, move toward your goals. Bios, Workshop descriptions & schedules, Intensive Workshops, publications, photos

Click on any name below to see all the details about that faculty member.

Béa Aaronson:

born in Paris, France, she is a self-taught multimedia artist, a published poet, author, and art critic, an independent scholar and international lecturer, as well as a stage performer.

Araceli Ardón:

novelist, biographer, professor, art and culture promoter, and winner of the Rosario Castellanos National Prize for Literature.

Margaret Atwood:

author of more than forty books of fiction, poetry, and is among the most-honored authors of fiction in recent history.

Bill Belew:

has taken each of more than a dozen topics to over 1,000,000 unique blog visitors.

Linda Bergman:

screenwriter by trade, nominated for an Emmy, an Access Award, the Alpha Award for Excellence in Children’s Programming, and the Writer’s Guild Award.                 

Franny Billingsley:

recovering attorney, acclaimed author of youth & young adult novels.

Rosalind Brackenbury:

is the author of eleven novels, five collections of poetry and a collection of short stories; she has been a book reviewer for ten years, and has been teaching writing for nearly thirty years.

Susan Sutliff Brown:

a professional private editor and book doctor of published and critically acclaimed fiction and memoir;  she brings 35 years of teaching and 20 years of private editing to her workshops.

Carole Bugge:

has eight published novels, six novellas and a dozen short stories and poems; author of the Lee Campbell thriller series.

Jennifer Clement:

award winning author of poetry, memoir, short story, & fiction; winner of Mexico’s prestigious “Sistema Nacional de Creadores”.

Laura Davis:

author of seven non-fiction books, more than 1.8 million copies sold, columnist, talk show host, radio reporter, radio producer, blogger, editor, writing teacher, and speaker.

Amy Ferris & Hollye Dexter:

Amy Ferris is an author, screenwriter, playwright and editor. Hollye Dexter is a singer/songwriter with four albums out, author of the memoir Only Good Things. Amy & Hollye are co-editors of the anthology The Shame Prom.

Anne Dimon:

a 20-year veteran of the travel writing industry, Toronto-based Anne Dimon is Publisher & Editor of Travel to Wellness Magazine.

Rikki Ducornet:

author of eight novels as well as collections of short fiction, essays, and poetry, she has twice been honored by the Lannan Foundation.

Silvia Elguea:

author, editor and translator. Twenty six years or teaching experience.

Kate Fowler:

promotions for books, ministerial speeches, playwriting, poetry, media promotion and marketing.

Graeme Gibson:

long time conservationist, member of the Order of Canada, and an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society; initial organizer and founding member and Chair of the Writers’ Union of Canada and founding member of the Writers’ Trust; from 1987 to 1989 he was president of the Canadian Centre of International PEN.

Laurie Gough:

lauded as an “one of the new generation of intrepid female travel writers”, author, contributor to countless publications.

Jorge Fernández Granados:

poet, novelist and essayist, born in Mexico City, 1965.

Wayne Grady:

creative nonfiction author, anthologist, translator, winner of numerous book awards.

Aysha Griffin:

business coach, writer/editor, former print and broadcast journalist, owner of a marketing/communications agency; she is a pioneer in desktop publishing.

Sandra Gulland:

Sandra Gulland is author of four historical novels, including Mistress of the Sun and the Josephine B. Trilogy, now published in fifteen countries with over a million sold worldwide.

Joy Harjo:

is an award winning poet, musician, playwright, and performer.

Gerry Helferich:

editor & publisher for 25 years before turning to writing; now an award winning author of nonfiction, and Wall Street Journal book reviewer.

Jorge F. Hernández:

grand storyteller, novelist, anothologist, columnist, radio and television broadcaster.

Judyth Hill:

stand-up poet and teacher, author of six books of poetry & a cookbook, author of acclaimed poem Wage Peace.

Sam Horn:

The Intrigue Expert, author, speaker, communication strategist ,  for 17 years she emceed the world-renowned Maui Writers Conference.

Eva Hunter:

award-winning writer, coach, editor, co-founder of “The Writer’s School” (Portland, OR) and the on-line magazine Sol: English Writing in Mexico.

Kristen Iversen:

author of 3 award-winning books, Director of MFA Program, editor-in-chief of The Pinch, co-founder of Orphan Press.

Claire Joysmith:

born & raised in Mexico City, she was brought up trilingually and quatriculturally. Her academic and creative work focuses on bilingual and transcultural expressions and translation.

Yolanda Lacarieri:

poet, radio show producer & host, author of short stories and novels.

Carol Lempert:

has written and performed three award-winning one-woman shows, award winning television and film actor.

C.M. Mayo:

author of widely-lauded works on Mexico, winner of Library Journal Best Book, short fiction & travel memoir author, editor, and translator.

Jayne Navarre:

founder & President of Antaeus Books®, internationally recognized speaker covering web-related marketing, branding, & social media.

Teresa Nicholas:

memoir author, essayist, travel writer, with 25 years at Random House publishing.

Susan McKinney de Ortega:

Philadelphia-born writer living in San Miguel de Allende, Mexico since 1992, former award winning journalist.

Elena Poniatowska: 

one of Mexico’s most celebrated and prolific writers.

Claudia Posadas:

journalist, writer and cultural promoter; as a journalist and promoter, has worked in various media Mexicans and Latin Americans.

Shelley Puhak:

award-winning Poet, writer in residence, professor.

Carmen Rioja:

award winning short story author, poet, radio producer & host, blogger, conservation artist.

Sharon Robinson:

author of many works of fiction and nonfiction; from midwife to children’s book author, she learned the delicate art of risk taking from her famous parents, Jackie and Rachel Robinson.

Víctor Sahuatoba:

Mexican writer, creative writing tutor and promoter, Chairman of the Cultural Foundation A Literature Jet, AC San Miguel center vice president of PEN International

Michael Schuessler:

Professor of Humanities at the Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana in Mexico City, the author of many articles devoted to the interpretation of Latin American literature and culture as well as several books.

Merilyn Simonds:

author of fifteen books, including creative nonfiction, autobiographical stories, travel memoir, and short fiction.

Rick Skwiot:

critically acclaimed memoir author, Hemingway First Novel Award winner, creative writing professor, co-founder & director of the Key West Writers Lab.

Sarah Stonich:

novelist and memoir author, Artist in Residence, short-listed for France’s prestigious Gran Prix de lectrices d’Elle.

Mary Katherine Wainwright:

retired professor of American literature currently living in San Miguel de Allende, she has taught at several major U.S. colleges and universities for over thirty years.

Scotty Watson:

touring comic, writer, co-founded Slaughterhouse Studios TO-NYC, one of the 10 best Improv Coaches in America.

Naomi Wolf:

author, social critic, and political activist she raises awareness of the pervasive inequities that exist in society and politics.

Ruth Yunker:

humorist, columnist, blogger, short story and essay author.